Table of Contents
The latest version of Windows 10 comes with new files and folders. These files are part of the C folder and consume a fair amount of space. You can read more about this in our article on How much space does windows 10 take?
While analyzing the windows files’ data, you may encounter various files consuming a fair amount of storage space. You may wonder why these files are drinking beautiful memories. Is it safe to delete them? Would you delete the $windows. bt?
Does the bt file impact the overall performance of the windows operating system?
The $windows~Bt folder is part of the windows ten operating system. It performs the Windows ten software upgrade process when there are new changes available to the software. You may see similar files in windows 7, 8, and 10.
Generally, the $windows~bt files are kept hidden in default mode. You may have to change the files’ appearance from hidden to show the files’ entire library.
$windows~bt windows 10
On the Windows 10 operating system, the $windows~bt folder contains the previously installed windows files. The files’ purpose is to downgrade the file to the previous version if you encounter an anomaly in the system.
Earlier, the windows software was used to save the files in Windows. The old folder which now replaces by the $windows bt folder. In some cases, you may see both the folders Windows. Old and $windows bt in the C drive of your computer.
The $windows~bt file serve multiple purposes. The folder will have log files of the past installation and activities performed during the installation process when you download and run the media creation tool. In the background, the $windows bt file is created in the folder.
The log files will have the steps you have followed while installation the application. In the other folder, name $WINDOWS.~WS, you will find the windows setup files.
Usually, windows automatically delete the files and clean the folder for you within ten days of installation or thirty days if the computer hasn’t upgraded for a very long period. You can delete this folder manually if windows have not performed the process yet.
Can I delete $windows~bt?
Technically you can delete the $windows~Bt file from the folder as you delete other files on your computer. Before you decide to delete the file, you should know that some benefits come with the file you cannot use after being permanently deleted.
The primary function of the windows~bt is to change the current version of the windows. It allows you to downgrade windows 10 to the previous version.
There will be occasions when the application or the software installed on your computer might not support the latest version of Windows 10. In the corporate, no supporting windows would result in a significant loss for the company.
Their employee might not perform their task on the software, leading to chaos in the organization. In such circumstances, downgrading windows 10 to a lower compatible version would solve the problem.
Hence, the file plays a crucial role in managing the operating system on your computer. You can quickly shift the performance to the older version and start using the computer as usual.
The flexibility of moving from the upper version to the lower version will be removed once you delete the $windows~ bt file from your computer. You cannot go back to the lower performance in the future.
Moreover, the windows ten operating system comes with the recovery function. The function is meant for the people who mistakenly delete some files or make some changes to the windows file and experience the error in their PC.
The one way of solving this problem is to install the new version of windows, but in that case, your existing files will be replaced with a new one, and all your data will be deleted.
How to recovery $windows~ bt?
Another option to get back to normal is to use the Recovery option. The recovery option saves the copy of the previous file in the backup.
When you instruct the computer to recover the file to the last date or the month of the backup file, the system will automatically detect the file and uploads the backup file to the live function. Your data is preserved in the process, and the windows error will be obliterated.
The recovery function is using the files stored in the $windows~bt folder. Once you delete the $windows~bt file from your computer, you will notice the Setting section to find the Recovery option removed. You no longer have the feature of recovering your data using the backup file.
Remember that windows 10 automatically delete the windows.~bt file safely after it completes the ten days. If you want to clean unwanted windows files, you should use the Disk Cleanup tool instead of deleting them manually.
The disk cleanup operation will detect and analyze the windows file and choose the unwanted files for deleting it from the system. It will not harm your computer in any way, and all the files will be removed safely without messing with your operating system.
The $windows~bt file may look suspicious when you see it the first time in your program file folder. The file is there to serve some purpose. Windows check the file regularly for any changes. It monitors all the files and removes any alien files from the computer.
Also, the windows defender software is powerful enough to protect your computer. You do not need to manually monitor the program files for protecting your computer from the virus. The latest version of windows 10 is highly secure.
The real-time monitoring system gives windows 10 Edge over the other operating system. When you run Windows 10 on your computer, it checks your operation, the application you installed and regularly changes your computer.
When it detects any issues or the folder in the program file, the windows defender software is activated.
The unsafe file is moved to the trash folder, and a notification is sent to the user. You can check the folder manually, and if you find it unknown, you can instruct the windows defender to remove it safely without harming the other operation.
Overall, Windows 10 is a safe operating system, so you do not have to worry about your computer’s $windows~bt folder.